ICA Announces 2010 Carwash Leadership Awards Recipients


The International Carwash Association has announced the recipients of its 2010 Leadership Awards. Cloister Wash & Lube owner Mike Mountz heads the list as this year’s inductee into the Car Wash Hall of Fame. The other award recipients are Jan van Kessel of Kesseltronics Systems, who will receive the Brian Campbell Innovation Award, and Gary Hirsh of PurClean, who will receive the Environmental Leadership Award.

All three will be honored at Car Care World Expo in Las Vegas during the Honors and Actions session May 13 from 8:15 a.m. to 9:15 a.m.

The featured session also will include a panel discussion on some of the industry trends raised during the ICA’s Leadership Summit last year. Panelists include Jim Belanger, Wash Zone Car Wash; Kevin Collette, Istobal USA; Mark Curtis, Splash Car Wash; Brian Gleason, PECO Carwash Systems; and Kelly Maria, Car Wash Technology.

Mountz is known in the carwash industry for his innovation. Cloister Wash & Lube operates four carwash facilities in Pennsylvania ranging from the company’s original small footprint in Ephrata to its Sinking Spring facility near Reading that sits on nearly eight acres and is generally regarded as the largest carwash facility in the nation.

The Sinking Spring carwash is a flex-serve model that utilizes flat-belt conveyors for detailing after-care. The carwash has a greeter house, 220-foot wash tunnel, self-serve area with four wash bays, three dedicated motorcycle self-serve bays, 16 self-serve vacuums, three self-serve pet bays, a four-bay lube shop, and its signature customer-waiting pavilion called Customerland. The facility was featured last year on the History Channel’s Modern Marvels.

Car Care World Expo will be held May 12-14 at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

Related Articles:


Similar Articles

comments powered by Disqus